“Autumn’s Voice”

Written for:  Carpe Diem Tanka Splendor #29 autumn’s voice
Today our prompt is autumn’s voice, but what do I mean by that? With this prompt I hope to challenge you to create tanka in which you are listening to autumn’s voice. Autumn’s voice … is the tough wind, the rustling of the fallen leaves, the hard smashing rains, the sound of birds on their way to warmer places and more.

just the wind
the rustling of fallen leaves
and the soft rain
together with the one I love
I discover the voice of autumn

© Chèvrefeuille (our host)

Here is my attempt:

I hear trees shaking
a whoosh of wind scatters leaves
flutter of wings
hummingbirds circle feeder
Indoors, a log crackles

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.