NYC Night Lights

Written for:  dVerse Poets, Poetics:  Night-time Panorama  (posted by Kim)
The challenge is to write a poem about a city at night, using the photograph as a starting point. You can write about your own city, one you have visited or lived in previously, a city you would love to go to or just write about what you see in the picture. I don’t mind if it’s an ancient city or one from fiction. But it must be at night.

Marquees flash neon lights,
Broadway lit on darkest nights.
News streams `round waist
of buildings, like ticker-tape.
Glorious blue beacon tops
Empire State, Chrysler Building
dressed in art deco gold. New York City
wakes to evening.

Poetics: Night-time Panorama

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NYC Night Lights

  1. kim881 says:

    I have only been to New York once, the year after 7/11, and I was impressed by the lights on Broadway. Thank you for awaking fond memories of my visit, Sarah! By the way, I love the lines:
    ‘News streams `round waist
    of buildings, like ticker-tape.’

    Like

  2. MYRNA ZACH says:

    I’m sure there is nowhere on earth like it

    >

    Like

  3. Grace says:

    Nice capture of that city’s lights, beacon tops and art deco gold ~ You made me recall my first trip to New York~

    Like

Comments are closed.