Loneliness

Written for:  Carpe Diem Tanka Splendor #17 loneliness

thoma_loneliness

Loneliness (painting by Hans Thoma; National Museum Warsaw)

all alone
after the quarrel with her
I sit down
trying to forget her
with a bottle of scotch

© Chèvrefeuille (our host)

Here is my attempt:

her smile is bright
brown eyes droop in sad pools
mask removed at night
like a hollow tree whose bark
obscures emptiness inside

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Loneliness

  1. Shawna says:

    I wish you hadn’t noticed that about me. 😛

    Seriously, excellent tanka.

    Like

  2. ihatepoetry says:

    Your response is longing and mournful – well done!

    Like

Comments are closed.