Sara’s Splendid Garden

Written for:  dVerse Poets, Poetics:  Johnny’s Garden  (posted by Kim)
The challenge is to write a poem about a garden. It can be a real garden (yours or someone else’s), a fantasy garden, a fictional garden, such as The Secret Garden, the garden of live flowers in Through the Looking Glass or the garden in Lady Chatterley’s Lover, a biblical or historical garden, for example the Garden of Eden or the Hanging Gardens of Babylon.  All you have to do is take us there – and you don’t have to buy it!

(Posting this Open Link, having missed the entrance to the garden.)

Flowers, shrubs, and maple trees
fragrant herbs and vegetables too.
Obvious need for honeybees
who have their job to do.
Among these basic garden sights
are butterflies, turtles, ladybugs.
Difference is they’re not statues or lights
they all speak to me, sans involvement of drugs.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sara’s Splendid Garden

  1. hypercryptical says:

    I love the apparent innocence of nature too, imagining what it would like to be a bird a bee or a blade of grass. An idyllic life…
    Truth is, nature is a constant battleground of the survival of the fittest. There is much death there in the battle to survive, eat or be eaten.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Like

  2. Of all innocence and clean living they taught us. Very much so Sara!

    Hank

    Like

  3. Bodhirose says:

    Great sentiments, Sara. I think it’s very important to be mindful of all the animals and insects that can be detrimentally effected by harsh chemicals that are sometimes used in gardens. We try our best not to use any.

    Like

  4. Yours is a lovely garden esp with the bees, butterflies, turtles and ladybugs. It makes me take a long contented sigh.

    Like

  5. Tom Merriman says:

    I like your garden, Sara. I love it when the critters speak!

    Like

  6. Grace says:

    I love your garden Sara ~ I hope we learn from nature that the gifts are freely bestowed to everyone ~

    Like

  7. I think it’s the bees that know the garden best… truly.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.