Now You See Me, Right?

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Invisibility

“ I am invisible, understand, simply because people refuse to see me. Like the bodiless heads you see sometimes in a circus sideshow, it is as though I have been surrounded by mirrors of hard, distorting glass. When they approach me they see only my surroundings, themselves, or figments of their imagination- indeed, everything and anything except me.”
― Ralph Ellison, Invisible Man

“The people stared through her as though she were invisible until she thought she was, and walked more easily then, just a cloud reflected in a stream.”
― Louise Erdrich

Invisible man tended
to pop up anywhere
he chose. He was
a doctor with no
antidote. Why did he
go mad? Maybe invisibility
is not all it’s cracked up
to be. He was removed
from any semblance of
a normal life. There are
invisible people who walk
among us, but they are
only invisible to us.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Now You See Me, Right?

  1. Susan says:

    Ah! They see each other–and talk about us! Certainly that was the case for the non-privileged humans in the USA, so often unseen by the powerful.

    Like

  2. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh this is beautifully poignant!❤️

    Like

  3. gillena says:

    Live the stress by repetition of invisibility in the poem
    Sara, I’m happy you dropped in to read mine

    Much love…

    Like

  4. hypercryptical says:

    “There are
    invisible people who walk
    among us, but they are
    only invisible to us.”

    How right you are. Let us open our eyes.

    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Like

  5. bkmackenzie says:

    there are invisible people who walk among us – it seems to be an easier way to travel…bkm

    Like

Comments are closed.