To My Virtual Friends

Written for:  Poetic Asides November 2016 Chapbook Challenge – Day 14
Write a dedication poem.  Pick someone or something as a subject and dedicate your poem to him, her, it, etc. You may consider titling your poem “For Big Foot” or “To a Purple Push Pin.” Heck, you could even write a poem to your former or future self.

A community of poets,
I have never met.
Yet, I feel that I know you
and you know me.
We span the world–different
ages, colors, beliefs. When
no one else understands us,
we understand each other.
Some of your faces (and assorted
avatars) pop up on my screen
like old friends. Here is to our
community of poets.  Poem on!

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To My Virtual Friends

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Love this mucho, Sara. And you. And your work. ❤

    Like

  2. ihatepoetry says:

    Amen. I love this too and you too Sara and de!

    Like

Comments are closed.