Stillness

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads
For this challenge, find your still place in a poem. It can be new or something that has long resonated in you—whatever makes offers the most grace to our lily pond. Or maybe it’s a favorite poem by another author.

Meditation lowers my pulse rate,
transports me to a silent world.
I can escape to a place
of clear green water, and watch
it flow without sound. How long
can I sit here? I do not carry
my watch to meditation.
Native birds call to each other,
and then, silence.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Stillness

  1. Suyash says:

    I’ve been practicing mindful meditation for about 2 yrs now. This resonates with me so much.

    Like

  2. I do not carry my watch to meditation.

    A practical voice in the middle of serenity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kerry O'Connor says:

    Water, birds, silence.. sounds perfectly peaceful to me.

    Like

  4. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! ❤️

    Like

  5. Brendan says:

    Those who meditate must wonder the same way as those who pray: Who would not open the gate to serene wonder, having learned how to widen it? Loved the final line, how motion dives into silence and all is well.

    Like

  6. I have never been successful in meditation, but I think I need my watch too much…

    Like

  7. Tom Merriman says:

    Ahhh. Vary nice, Purple! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. hedgewitch says:

    Finding the stillness works much better without a watch. Some things measure themselves.

    Like

  9. Time can certainly push us to move. Stillness is much more satisfying (and attainable) without the demands of time.

    Like

  10. Sherry Marr says:

    A timeless moment, wonderfully described.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jim says:

    Very nice, Sarah. I came there with you.
    When you leave and the green Is still being still, I will toss a few pebbles,
    one at a time, gently into the green
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I need to meditate more, to take time to let my mind find peace. Beautiful reminder

    Like

Comments are closed.