Daisy Picking

Written for: dVerse Poets – Meeting the Bar; The Alouette    (Posted by Bodhirose)
This form consists of two or more stanzas of 6 lines each (sestets) with the following set rules: Syllables/Meter: 5, 5, 7, 5, 5, 7 Rhyme Scheme: a, a, b, c, c, b The name is a French word meaning ‘skylark’ or larks that fly high. 

She picks a daisy
is feeling lazy
on this Sunday afternoon.
No homework to do
of friends, she has few.
Mean girls label her crazy.

They laugh at her chores
like sweeping up floors,
leaving little time for play.
Her father left home,
Mom struggles to own
their house, so she works long days.

He loves me, she picks
last petal, then flicks
wrist, and sits under her tree.
Wiles hours away,
to work on her play
about a large family.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Daisy Picking

  1. Bodhirose says:

    I’m sure that are many, lonely people like this girl who only have a daisy to hang their dreams upon. Lovely alouette, Sara, many thanks for giving the form a try.

    Like

  2. I love your alouette, Sara 🙂

    Like

  3. I think she will be fine, I hope the chores will make her strong… sometimes the lucky one are those without a silver spoon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bryan Ens says:

    I can’t help but think you are writing about a real person?

    Like

  5. Mish says:

    I felt a bit of “Cinderella” in this alouette….poor girl.

    Like

Comments are closed.