What Do You Seek?

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Path

A path is a way marked out for people to walk and a way of life too. It may be long, short, straight, winding steeply upwards or without any destination. Only we have to be careful about choosing the right one for us.

“Do not go where the path may lead go instead where there is no path and leave a trail…….” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Some paths are clearly marked;
they may be the ones you are searching for.
Others are narrow clearings through
forests, light lingering
on the far side. Dark paths
are unchartered territory,
place where a story may lie
within. While straight roads
lead to garden gates,
if you wait for a winding
trail, who knows, you might
see a white tail, and follow it. You could
be at an entrance to Wonderland.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What Do You Seek?

  1. sueashby7 says:

    This is wonderful, and I love it.

    Like

  2. Jillien says:

    I love the image of a straight road leading to a garden gate. Really beautiful imagery in your writing.

    Like

  3. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    I can’t tell you how much I love this poem ❤️

    Like

  4. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    A joy to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sumana Roy says:

    “You could / be at an entrance to Wonderland.”…i like this leap of faith….

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    You never know what will be discovered along a trail. An entrance to Wonderland would definitely be a cool discovery.

    Like

  7. ihatepoetry says:

    Exactly. I love this.

    Like

  8. Sherry Marr says:

    I do love this poem, though I feel like we may just have slid down the rabbit hole, LOL.

    Like

  9. Susan says:

    What an attractive vision. I may have to leap along that path.

    Like

  10. marjablom says:

    Love your poem and especially the referral to wonderland I would follow the white tail on a winding trail Brilliant

    Like

  11. jammy7000 says:

    I like the idea that there are different paths for everyone and that we all choose what is best for each one of us. The concept of a wonderland at the end of a winding trail is one that appeals to me 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.