Some Tales, Some Tails

Written for:  dVerse Poets – Homophone Me!  (posted by Lillian)
Today’s prompt:  I’d like you to write one poem that contains at least two homophones. For example, air and heir; bow and bough; allowed and aloud; sole and soul. Homophones are two words that sound the same but have a different spelling and different meaning. They can, in essence, be a perfect rhyme.

Hare and tortoise
make up a fable.
Cinderella’s blonde hair
flows in a fairytale.
Little Boy Blue
blew his horn.
Rapunzel’s long plait
fell into her plate.
With a hurried gait,
White Rabbit shuts a gate.
I could go on and tell you more,
but I’m off to Scotland to see the moors.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Some Tales, Some Tails

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    😉 I like this, Sara! What fun!

    Like

  2. Vijita says:

    Had fun reading it… nice one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I could go on and tell you more,
    but I’m off to Scotland to see the moors

    Terse but great close with the added tinge of humor! Wonderful lines Sara!

    Hank

    Like

  4. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Delightful!! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lillian says:

    Love this! So glad you posted….I was waiting for Alice to appear 🙂 Well done!

    Like

  6. Brian says:

    I always laugh here. The business of fairy tales all rolled into one hike.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Misky says:

    Well done. I hadn’t thought of plate and plait. Nice one.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Huge smile. The homophones just fit in so easily and I like how you tied them into the tales.

    Like

  9. jazzytower says:

    The homophones sounds fun!

    Like

Comments are closed.