A Brief Flash

Written for:  The Sunday Whirl, Wordle#270

Words:  mimic, line, fade, state, limit, park, spin, insulate, kick, flash, rim, flip

Sun flashes, lighting up
trees in parks, a spinning wheel
of autumn’s threads
’til it fades in shadow,
and outlines a rim of moon.

We, insulated in a state
of comfort, kick up our heels,
mimic the light of sun.
We are flip;  we are immortal,
unaware of our limitations,
until we reach them.

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Brief Flash

  1. Yes. Often we don’t realise that we have reached our limitations.

    Like

  2. Funny. I have an opposite reaction than J Cosmo Newbery.
    My reaction was and is:
    But reach them (our limitations) we do!

    Like

Comments are closed.