“the moon rises each night”

Written for:  Carpe Diem Universal Jane #2, “the moon rises each night” (a tanka)

rising-moon

too old for new love
the moon rises each night
as I remember
the backseats of strange cars
it’s helpful light afterwards

© Jane Reichhold

A beautiful tanka in which we find the beauty of the rising moon, but also the beauty of discovering sexuality as teenagers. Maybe you can remember having the first kiss in a car, or the first time having sex on the backseat of a car. In this tanka you can find that strong romantic atmosphere.

your letter
left me at sea to know
where we are going
puzzled the paper folded
a boat set adrift

© Jane Reichhold

dancing naked
in the light of the blue moon
she cleanses me
her warmth cherishes my body
the sweet scent of Honeysuckle

© Chèvrefeuille (our host)

Here is my attempt:

first storm of autumn
they dance in frantic sweeps
limbs dangle in moonlight
leaves whirl like holiday wreaths
look for red carpet at dawn

 

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “the moon rises each night”

  1. Wonderful imagery in your Tanka, Sara. Loved those dangling limbs.

    Like

  2. Very nicely crafted tanka Sara.

    Like

Comments are closed.