Bi-Polar

Written for:  Robert Brewer’s Dizain Challenge*

This particular form was a favorite of 15th and 16th century French poets, but it has also been employed in English by the likes of Philip Sidney and John Keats.

Here are the basic rules of the dizain:

One 10-line stanza
10 syllables per line
Employs the following rhyme scheme: ababbccdcd

Sufferers of bi-polar disorder
observed in those I know, see fission
created by disease pushing borders,
from blue depths and loss of forward vision
to spurts of manic exhilaration.
An exhaustive state in which to exist–
at times resisting meds for sense of bliss.
Unshakable confidence, often true.
To obtain balance, and avoid abyss,
mind labors in stress. I wish strength for you.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.