Coney Island In Black And White

Written for:  Poetic Asides #371 – Ekphrastic (written from artwork)

images

Nathan’s, a Mecca in the heart
of Brooklyn. Every part of a
child’s fantasy in one place–
sizzling hot dogs, fat french fries
peeking out of a paper cone. Could not
master the art of walking
while eating fresh corn-on-the-cob
dripping with butter, but what
a tantalizing scent. Bent over
laughing when someone told me
that Nathan’s sold frog’s legs
in sandwiches. Thought they were
teasing, because I was a kid.
Then I found out they did!
Still love you, Nathan’s,
but I will never eat frogs legs,
bun or no bun.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coney Island In Black And White

  1. Kathleen says:

    Such a fun piece!

    Like

  2. mzach456@comcast.net says:

    those were the days

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.