Dark Clouds

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub:  Quadrille #18   (posted by Kim)
Today, I want you to write a poem of exactly 44 words (not counting your title), including the word cloud.  Cloud can be used to refer to a state of gloom, menace or worry. Winnie the Pooh pretended he was a little black rain cloud to get to some ‘hunny’. The verb ‘to cloud’ can be applied to any number of things that make the sky, water or our eyes dim.

Black suit, pink shirt–a flirt.
Jet hair, midnight eyes–
hypnotized.

Why me, she thought?
He enchanted;
her inner voice

recanted. She was
beguiled, bewitched,
until blue suits

with handcuffs took him
away. He’d strayed far
from two wives.

Clouds peeled from her eyes.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Dark Clouds

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Whew! Oh my goodness, Sara! You have managed to get so much story into 44 words! I am stunned, and in awe.

    Like

  2. What a story you manage to capture… handcuffed sounds good in this case.

    Like

  3. maria says:

    Aww… some stories are bound to end.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kim881 says:

    Wow! A bigamist in handcuffs! A love story gone wrong! All in 44 words! I like the way you’ve used the prompt word.

    Like

  5. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    I am literally swooning here ❤️ perfect 44!!

    Like

  6. Blink and you miss it. In the ‘why me’ she knew 😉 For me, I had him at black suit/pink shirt 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Brian says:

    A flash poem very well told.

    Like

  8. Shawna says:

    I love this poem … especially the opening.

    Like

  9. A packed story powerfully told!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lynn__ says:

    Trouble dressed to the nines…clever write, Sara!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh my goodness, a full story packed in 44 words. Wow

    Like

  12. Yikes…lucky girl, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Captivating. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Truedessa says:

    Wow, the ending took me by surprise..well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.