Open Your Eyes

Written for:  The Sunday Whirl, Wordle #268

Words:  shoulder, bridge, grain, reflect, fin, wisp, barge, spin, blade, filter, billow, lock

Do not lock yourself
away. Look over
your shoulder at
a barge going by
under a bridge,
a boat’s sails billowing
in light winds. Filter
out all sights except
water’s surface. See fins
spin, reflecting on ripples.
Moments of nature occur
in a wisp of time–one blade
of grass, one grain of sand.
Life is not only what you can
hold in your hand.

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Open Your Eyes

  1. “Life is not only what you can
    hold in your hand.”

    well put.
    Randy

    Like

  2. Misky says:

    So true. Lovely and wise.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t argue with that! Delightful.

    My Whirl is called Marion

    Like

  4. Mama Zen says:

    Really beautiful work.

    Like

  5. colonialist says:

    I love the coherence which you have created from such widely disparate words.

    Like

Comments are closed.