Peppers

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub, “Arrangements by Emily Blincoe”  (Posted by Grace)
I have chosen her work, Arrangements, the theme for this Poetics.  If you are a tidy person, the one who conscientiously arranges things, then her photos would speak to you. If not, its fine too as you can write in rebellion to the neat arrangements of things in a canvas.   

If your palate rebels at ingestion
of fiery foods, line up selection
in order–for your protection–
by mildest to blazing perfection.

If you have a predilection
to sort by size or section,
be prepared for complexion
to flush crimson at interjection
of red-hot peppers that play with digestion.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Peppers

  1. Mish says:

    That was fun and I really enjoyed the rhyme. We do need to sort green chile and such things accordingly at my house….my hubby being from New Mexico and I from Southern Ontario, Canada. I have toughened up, however. 😉

    Like

  2. I do love myself a hot chili
    it keeps us warm when it’s cold and chilly
    and though it could make a lady crimson
    I find such a complexion winsome

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Grace says:

    Too hot for me but I love your rhyming verses ~ Thanks for playing along ~

    Like

  4. Bryan Ens says:

    Clever take on the prompt and the picture. Love the rhymes!

    Like

  5. annell4 says:

    A delightful “arrangement!”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. whimsygizmo says:

    What fun with rhyme! 🙂 Love this!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kim881 says:

    A bit of a peppery rap, Sarah! They most definitely play with my digestive system, but aren’t they just beautiful!

    Like

Comments are closed.