Candles

Written for:  Carpe Diem #1062, Candles

one candle
gives its light to another –
spring evening

© Yosa Buson (Tr. Chèvrefeuille)

lighting a candle
the moon slips away
in a smoky cloud

replacing the candle
the full moon comes
in the window

moonset
into the dawn burns
a candle

© Jane Reichhold

in the light from the candle held
their color lost–
yellow chrysanthemums

© Yosa Buson (Tr. William R. Nelson)

reflections
the light of the candle
on her face

© Chèvrefeuille (our host)

Here is my attempt:

imgres

Scented air
drifts in, sets mood for romance
jasmine candle

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

 

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Candles

  1. Lovely haiku. I can taste the ambiance and smell the jasmine.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.