Wrong Shadow

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub:  Monday Quadrille #17  (posted by WhimsyGizmo)
Helloooo, poetic peeps. De here (aka WhimsyGizmo). It’s time again for the Q44, our Quadrille – when we ponder one word, and poetically transform it into 44. Today, I want you to write a poem of exactly 44 words (not counting your title), including the word shadow.

Peter Pan chased his. Sometimes we box our own. It can be a noun (a darkness, silhouette, outline). It can be a verb (to follow, to shade or darken). It can be an adjective (shadow boxing, shadowless, shadowlike).

“And My soul from out that shadow that lies floating on the floor
Shall be lifted -Nevermore”
– Edgar Allan Poe

Who tails him? He turns.
Sees wet streets, and shuttered
shops. Ahead, lamp post throws
circled light. Bean pole shadow
appears. Shape puzzles him.
Shadow stands, apologizes. I’m new,
supposed to be attached
to a tall, thin guy. Oops! There
he goes; must run.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Wrong Shadow

  1. Oh better not untail the thin white duke.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Being chased by one’s own shadow hasn’t been this fun for ages! Lovely!

    Like

  3. maria says:

    Haha! Trouble!

    Like

  4. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh this is absolutely delightful! Enjoyable read ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Grace says:

    And run he goes ~ Love the light and fun poem Sara~

    Liked by 1 person

  6. whimsygizmo says:

    I love the voice in this! A playful shadow, perhaps, instead of a scary one. 😉

    Like

  7. Brian says:

    I like the confused shadow always trying to keep up.

    Like

  8. frankhubeny says:

    I liked the idea of considering that even shadows might lose whom they are shadowing.

    Like

  9. You’ve managed to weave together humor and atmosphere. Great write.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 😃 Fun, delightful and creative! I enjoyed the voice of the shadow.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. cute. We all get confused in the shadows. Got to go…
    Randy

    Liked by 1 person

  12. kim881 says:

    Oh Sarah, that is such fun! I’ve often thought I had the wrong shadow.

    Like

  13. Cats chaSinG
    tales..
    shadows..
    jusT for FuN..
    hUmans
    remember
    shadows
    jUst for Fun
    plaY aGaiN
    Tales for liGht Pan DancE..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I like the story you told and the atmosphere in this piece. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Mish says:

    Haha! I could see the animation and facial expressions of these characters. Fun take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Oh, I enjoyed this vivid creation! Love the way it goes from spooky to amusing.

    Like

Comments are closed.