Cinnamon Calls

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub: Meeting The Bar – “The Reason For Rhyme”
(posted by Walt) – Critique and Craft
The kinds of rhymes available to us are widely varied. They all serve a useful purpose in our daily expression and poemic endeavors. A suggestion: Continuing on the theme of the arrival of Autumn and my exploration of the senses (The Sound of Love), Use the idea of the scents or flavors of the Fall season, write your poems with an eye toward including some of these rhyming techniques.

For scent of cinnamon,
I will come in, stay
for awhile, smile, and hope
for a chance to sample
coffee cake or cookies.
If you want to win
my favor, flavor hot chocolate
with cinnamon and a pinch
of hot pepper. In my head,
Autumn is all to do with
russet leaves, stew,
and pumpkins on the vine,
knowing a pie will soon
be mine. Spiced cider
warms chill days of latter
Fall. Cozy up with cuddly
dogs, and know you have it all.

Meeting The Bar – The Reason For Rhyme

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cinnamon Calls

  1. Brian says:

    *sniffs the screen* Such a flavorful poem my mouth is watering. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.