Cool Paleness

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub:  “Moon-Muse”  (posted by Grace)
The challenge is to write about the moon as if the moon is a person – flesh, sweat and blood.   Describe him or her, and tell us about your moon.

images

In cool paleness
you come to me
though at certain times
you show merely a phase

of yourself. On those bright
nights you stir my blood,
heat it to a boil. There is
an aura about your face

that pulls at my heart
like greedy fingers. Energy
courses through my veins,
sleep eludes me.

Yet on those bright nights
I long for your cool paleness.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Cool Paleness

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    I love the way this comes full circle. And I LOVE this line:
    “that pulls at my heart
    like greedy fingers.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wonder if she acts in ways that mirror does though…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is soo serene.. so very beautiful… ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. that pulls at my heart
    like greedy fingers…… I love that line also

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Grace says:

    Cool paleness, I love that last line Sara. Thanks for joining in.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kathy Reed says:

    I pale moon is so soothing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. And your pale coolness! You possess it all, CH2!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sueashby7 says:

    This is an amazing poem, so beautiful. I love the moon and you have done it a great bit of justice.

    Like

  9. Bodhirose says:

    I remember those bright lit nights as a child and somehow it did seem cooler. Beautiful, Sara.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Moon Child cAlls
    iN shadows BeyOnd
    DArk oF SiDe..
    so bLack..
    HoWls
    come
    who
    who
    cAlls
    BacK wHO..:)

    Like

Comments are closed.