Swiftness of Seasons

Written for dVerse Poet’s Pub:  Quadrille #15 (posted by De)
Play with the word: leaves

Use it as a noun. Tree leaves. Leaves of paper.
Use it as a verb (he leaves, she leaves.) As a verb, you can lop off the “s” and change it to singular if needed (I leave, you leave.) But don’t use “leaf.” That’s cheating.😉

Ponder autumn in all its colorful glory. Ponder book pages. Ponder a past departure. Ponder the remains of the day when the sun abandons the sky.

Leaves on Ground

(photo by Justin Jackson)

I turn ‘round in summer,
surprised to find that leaves
turn with me. Sun’s heat
lessens. Can season’s end
be near? Breeze kicks up
its heels, leaves fall,
tumbling over green herbs,
masking their scents for another year–
or until I turn ‘round again.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Swiftness of Seasons

  1. Oh that cyclic sense of seasons …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kim881 says:

    To everything torn, turn, turn… I love the image of the breeze kicking up its heels, Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anita Lubesh says:

    Beautiful swirl of imagery there and autumn’s tricks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. whimsygizmo says:

    This is lovely, ma’am, and comes full circle quite beautifully, just like the seasons themselves.

    Like

  5. ihatepoetry says:

    This was graceful and beautiful.

    Like

  6. I feel seasons (and I) have been spinning. Turning sounds good 🙂
    Lovely poem, Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. We’ve had an early decay here. The heat had baked the leaves to a brown crispness. It is just one of those years. Love the ballet of words here!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. SMiLes.. 2015..
    WiNter oF neVer
    Lands leaves.. HeArt
    Red FloWers..
    INdian
    Summer
    ever
    leaves..
    January
    BLooms..
    looKing forWard.. 2017..
    A cOld fRont.. coMes..
    juSt onE
    Seed
    oF
    SeaSons change..
    Florida North WitH SNow..
    dreAm FLakes leaVe DiffeRence..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    I love this one – the tone, the crafting, the images, everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mish says:

    A beautiful visual of one rotating around with the seasons. I’d rather not see those leaves on my herbs though.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.