Good Times Roll

Written for Poetic Asides #364 – Write a “let the good times roll” poem.
“I’ll allow each poet to put the emPHAsis where they wish in that phrase. Focus on the “good times” or play around with the concept of “rolling.” However you roll, I’m cool with it.”

Come on in to Good Times Roll.
If there is a roll you have a hankering
for, we will have that one and more.
Kaiser, onion, dinner, pumpernickel,
or rye, poppyseed, sesame, or seedless.
Why, you name a size–large, small,
mini, or hero for those with big
eyes–we aim to satisfy every customer,
except for wise guys asking
for jelly rolls, Tootsie Rolls,
Swiss Rolls, or rock ‘n roll. Try
another shop. We are all about
bread at Good Times Roll. Stop in,
ask for Pop.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Times Roll

  1. mzach456@comcast.net says:

    wasn’t hungry until I read this

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.