Changes Are Coming

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Blessings
Blessing is a gift of bliss, affirmation, hope and inspiration bestowed upon a person.

“The thing to do, it seems to me, is to prepare yourself so you can be a rainbow in somebody else’s cloud. Somebody who may not look like you. May not call God the same name you call God – if they call God at all. I may not dance your dances or speak your language. But be a blessing to somebody. That’s what I think.”— Maya Angelou 

Out of work, and now homeless.
He is in shock. In his habit of helping
destitute folks, he never imagined
he would be on the needy end,
curb sitting, clutching a hand-
painted sign. He eyes a Brooks Brothers
suit coming his way. Say, something
seems familiar about this guy.
The suit speaks. You do not know me?
He chuckles. I was you, sitting
on a curb with a similar sign.
You were always kind to me. Now,
it is my turn.  I had some luck–
came into some money.  Cleaned
myself up, and found a decent
job. Let me help you. Homeless man looks
at him, remembers.  Tears roll down
his face. How easy it is to trade
places.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Changes Are Coming

  1. thotpurge says:

    Absolutely… we need to be grateful for the good times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sumana Roy says:

    beautifully put…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes indeed, how easy! A good story.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jae Rose says:

    Yes it is easy to trade places – often easier to fall back than move forward.. your poem reminds us that kindness and empathy make a whole world of difference..that is the catalyst for change..not money alone perhaps

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan says:

    Wonderful narrative poem! Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sherry Marr says:

    What a FANTASTIC story! I hope it is true. How easy it is to change places, indeed. So many of us are always only one or two missed cheques from the streets.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ihatepoetry says:

    Excellent. I love the narrative here.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. daa1915 says:

    More wise words from Maya Angelou. Nice poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.