The Fountain

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads-“Let’s Send A Postcard” (posted by Kerry)
Postcards became popular at the turn of the 20th century, especially for sending short messages to friends and relatives. They were collected right from the start, and are still sought after today by collectors of pop culture, photography, advertising, wartime memorabilia, local history, and many other categories. (Source)

Do some browsing of your own, or select one of the postcards I have used by way of example, and write a poem inspired by the picture, or if you prefer, the message written on the reverse side.

pc3354

Hi honey,

See the second floor window on right? That’s me.
Have wet my hands, and taken a sip from
Fountain of Youth. So far, no change.
Keep you posted.

Yours,
Saul

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Fountain

  1. Kerry O'Connor says:

    I love it! The ironic fountain of youth comment made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.