Sir?

Written for: Poetics Aside #360.  Pick a word you might use to get someone’s attention.
Make that word the title of your poem, and write the poem.

Been here long, sir?
No, not on this bench–
on this planet. Why are you
trying to cram it full
of litter? No, I am not
kidding. Please pick up
that candy wrapper, and put it
in the trash can–three feet
away. Say, look, you do not
need to get nasty. Would you
want to stay in a neighborhood
full of garbage? We all have
to live on this earth. Why not
give it a chance to survive,
especially if you plan
to be here long, sir.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.