Phases Of The Heart

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub, “Part Three-Laurie Kolp and a Summer Continuance (posted by Walt)

“I am cold, even though the heat of early summer is adequate. I am cold because I cannot find my heart.” ~Sebastian Barry from his novel A Long, Long Way

In the beginning
after an unexpected
breakup, tears flowed
from red swollen eyes.
Pounds dropped from her
frame, resulting in
skeletal appearance
and hollowed cheeks.
She could not speak.
Phase Two burst in
with rage. Pages in her
her journal sizzled.
Along came Phase Three.
She had overcome pain,
replacing it with numbness
of heart. It was plain
that she no longer cared.
Affairs ensued, blue
with cold. She had misplaced
herself.

PART 3 – LAURIE KOLP & A SUMMER CONTINUANCE

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phases Of The Heart

  1. Oh those sad stages… but maybe we need cold not to hemorrhage

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kanzensakura says:

    I can well identify these phases after an horrendously painful breakup after 13 years together. It does take time but when it happens, it is freedom. Well penned.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.