Brown And Gold

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads:  Transforming with Nature’s Wonders  (posted by Hannah)
I invite you to check out this article from, NATIVE AMERICANLEGENDS – Native American Totem Animals & Their Meanings. It provides a general background and list of animals. Some might be familiar with this topic…some may already be acquainted with their animal totem(s). You may browse the list and choose an animal that speaks to you personally, either a favorite or through past experiences.

“If you talk to the animals they will talk with you and you will know each other. If you do not talk to them, you will not know them, and what you do not know you will fear. What one fears one destroys. — Chief Dan George” 

giraffe-eating-serengeti

At first sight, giraffe’s puzzle coat
draws me in–unique brown and gold 
stretching up to treetops for choicest
leaves. Graceful in every movement,
Giraffe as ballet dancer in silhouette
comes to mind. Face to face, I see
kindness in keen eyes and smiling
mouth. Giraffe’s quietness and serenity
beats in my heart. There is a stillness
in the air that surrounds them that I wish
to inhabit.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brown And Gold

  1. They are such peaceful beings, arent they? I love their sweetness and their odd long necks, perfect for eating topmost leaves. Nature has such grand designs for its creatures.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Beautiful choice of animal, and beautiful lines explaining why.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “There is a stillness
    in the air that surrounds them that I wish
    to inhabit.”

    I love this closing Sara…powerful to think about and I love the use of “inhabit.”

    Thank you, so much for writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.