Viv

Written for:  The Sunday Whirl, Wordle #256
These words were inspired by Viv.

words:  laugh, twinkle, can, lift, shock, quilt, grow, warmth, bird, spice, weep, wit

Simply from her photograph
you felt her warmth lift your spirits
   There was a twinkle in her eyes

You can go back to see her lovely
photographs, and intricate quilts.
   There was a twinkle in her eyes

She made me laugh; she made me weep
Aura, colors of a peacock’s plumage
   There was a twinkle in her eyes

News of her passing shocked me.
I had grown fond of her. Remember,
   There was a twinkle in her eyes

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Viv

  1. 1sojournal says:

    Like what you did with Viv’s words. You are so right, there is a twinkle in her eyes. When I started on the prompt circuit, I thought I might be a bit old for this stuff, but then found out that Viv was much older than I thought. I figured if she could, I certainly should be able to do so. I always smiled when I saw her face pop up in my comments section. I’m willing to bet that most of us did,

    Elizabeth
    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2016/07/09/a-childs-laughter/

    Like

  2. Love that you chose “twinkle” for the refrain. Very Viv.

    Like

  3. Jae Rose says:

    I love how you instil the essence of the twinkle in her eye..one of the many good things we must remember..honour and keep alive..

    Like

  4. This causes me to well-up with tears, Sara. Yes, she did have a twinkle in her eyes and in her way, too. Thank you, for this poem and for remembering. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.