Tasting Childhood

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub – Empire of Scents (posted by Grace)

Our poetry challenge is to dive into the world of scents. Drizzle your verses with spices, if you are a lover of food. Make us happy or sad, even lusty and sensual, to evoke memories. Fill our plate with your scented words, and fill our nostrils with emotions. Second helpings are welcome but be sure to visit and comment on other poems.

Whiff of Old Spice passes by,
bringing Dad back in waves
of familiar warmth. Bite
into a chocolate chip cookie,
still warm and soft. Mom is in
my kitchen, which is where
I learned to bake. Smell
a cinnamon candle, one of my
favorite spices. Pulls me back
to Grandma’s kitchen table,
center of the apartment,
where an apple cake
is in progress. A campfire
burns, orange and crackling.
I taste burnt marshmallows
on a stick, served up
by the Old Spice man.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tasting Childhood

  1. Love how you weave the past just from that whiff of After shave

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The sights I remember of all the similar scent you smelled warm me just as much as actually reliving those aromas (I have no sense of smell). A wonderful vignette, Sara!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    This is absolutely delightful! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. C.C. says:

    Love the way you’ve written this in a full circle way, referring to the Old Spice scent bringing Dad back in waves and then at the end you have the “Old Spice man” serving up burnt marshmallows. Very clever and extremely effective 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kanzensakura says:

    I agree with C.C. My father was an old Spice man. It must be something about the men who wore old spice and were fathers – gentle wonderful men. Love the memories in this.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How sweet to remember them so. Food fragrances can solve rather well!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mish says:

    There is a candle shop near my hometown and they make a candle called “Grandma’s Kitchen”. Your poem reminded me of it’s strong cinnamon scent. You’ve shared some classics here with roasted marshmallows, campfires, chocolate chip cookies…mmm

    Like

  8. Ah, Old Spice! My step-dad used to wear that back in the day. Thank you for the memory. I loved your family memories 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.