Green Awning

Written for:  Poetic Asides #355
Write a cravings poem.

Saw that green awning
rippling on the corner,
few tables and chairs
scattered underneath.
Windows shimmered
in high heat. I could
not wait to eat at my
favorite Italian restaurant.
Met friends for a feast,
leisurely evening of wine,
cubes of fried polenta,
fresh, crusty bread,
and frutta de mare over linguine
in rich red sauce. Sated
as we were, who could resist
an espresso, and shared dessert
of tartufo–chocolate covered
ice cream balls of vanilla,
chocolate and cherry. As we
ate, laughed, and reminisced, 
I wanted nothing more
than to stay  in this cocoon
of friendship’s warmth
and love.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green Awning

  1. mzach456@comcast.net says:

    reading this before lunch made my mouth water

    Like

  2. ihatepoetry says:

    I love that feeling – you captured it well here.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.