Blue Spill

Written for:   dVerse Poets Pub , Quadrille 11

Write poem of exactly  44 words, using the word, spill.

Can I spill my guts to you?
Draped in blue crepe,
Body aches, heart fakes beats.
Murmur white lies to soothe me,
Turn crepe into silk, slow
Beats to even rhythm. Can I
Spill my guts to you?
I promise to clean up
Afterwards.

http://dversepoetspub.com

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Blue Spill

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Oh, I LOVE this take, Sara! The last line made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Grace says:

    Unique take, I love it !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Spilling one’s guts can be a very messy thing! Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, as long as you clean up after… go ahead, spill! Nicely done, CH2!

    Like

  5. I do love the last part – such a perfect finish!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ihatepoetry says:

    Love the way this flowed – overflowed- and how it wrapped up.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Arcadia M says:

    Well written. I like this take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wonderful take..maybe this is what love and caring is all about … (I might even help to clean)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mike Bayles says:

    I like this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. “Draped in blue crepe.” I love that line. The ending is very clever. 🙂

    Like

  11. 1gus1 says:

    Very neat! I can only think of spill as an item to light the fire or the gas . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    That final promise raised a smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. kanzensakura says:

    Unique take! I enjoyed this a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.