Why Am I Dying Alone?

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads, Flash 55 PLUS!
Write a piece of poetry or prose on a subject of your choice in precisely 55 WORDS. 
For the OPTIONAL EXTRA part of this challenge, I invite you to choose a line or two of one of the saddest songs ever written as inspiration for your piece. 

Streets of Philadelphia by Bruce Springsteen

I was bruised and battered, I couldn’t tell what I felt.
I was unrecognizable to myself.
Saw my reflection in a window and didn’t know my own face.
Oh brother, are you gonna leave me wastin’ away
on the streets of Philadelphia

Why Am I Dying Alone?

What ever happened to, ‘I’d never leave you.’
I am ill, dying alone, listening
to, ‘she’s found someone new.’
I know this disease has ravaged me,
but after twenty years together
I thought you’d have more compassion, and stay.
My end is near, and it’s clear you fear someday
your own beauty will fade away.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Am I Dying Alone?

  1. kaykuala h says:

    Not really easy to progress gracefully with certain relationships. Good fortune may come easy to some though. There is always the silver lining waiting! Wonderful 55 Sara!

    Hank

    Like

Comments are closed.