Quotidian Qualities

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub – Haibun #15, All Things Quotidian (posted by hayesspencer)
Today, I challenge you to think about everyday occurrences and to write about them in a compact, haibun form.  To make it easier on us, I am making this short and sweet:  write a haibun of one paragraph with one haiku at the end.  The haiku must be a haiku and not a 5-7-5 or micropoem.  It must be 5-7-5 or short-long-short and must be about nature.  That is probably the hardest part of this exercise today – write about an every day occurrence and then to at the end, write a haiku that ties the everyday things all together.

Black coffee every morning starts off my day.
Dogs go out, dogs come in, dogs go out,
dogs come in. One dog gets a pill, the other,
only the peanut butter. At night, I switch
to cream cheese. Two books of poetry
are always bookmarked; I try reading
poems from each book for about
one half hour. Reading in bed at night
is a habit of pure delight for me.

beans picked in Sumatra
dogs play, poets write in lines
scent fills each page

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Quotidian Qualities

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Scent filled pages. YES. Delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patti says:

    Yes, scent filled pages are so good! I had a cat who needed medication daily. Not easy with a cat. Escape into the written word helped.

    Like

  3. kanzensakura says:

    Yes indeed. Scent filled pages – luscious words. And of course, the dogs go in, the dogs go out….reminds me of a song where the line The worms play pinochole on your snout….Every day. Oh my yes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ‘beans picked in Sumatra’ – makes the reader think on. Clear imagery with such charm

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It sounds like a gorgeous simple life… coffee, dogs and poetry…

    Like

  6. Grace says:

    I love how the dogs, words and scents filling up your life ~ A lovely share Sara ~

    Like

  7. lynn__ says:

    What a pleasant routine, Sara 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You have put a whole world into that haiku. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lillian says:

    Tipping my morning cup to you! 🙂 Dogs go in dogs go out dogs go in dogs go out — the litany of the animals a part of the day. Enjoyed your words very much! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This sounds like my day, right down to the books of poetry. Only I use sweet potato for the dogs’ pills…they love it! Made me smile.

    Like

Comments are closed.