As I Grew

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Parenthood (Parents, Guardians, Significant Adults in the Lives of Children)

Write a new poem, in which you take on the voice of a child with real or ideal adults parenting them.

Many words are hurtful
to others, they said,
so I did not use them. Judge
each person as you meet them,
I was told, never pre-judge.

When my father held me as he taught
me to swim, or bike ride, I trusted
him to be there. Both parents
were witty, could make me laugh,
especially while I was angry with them.

My parents aged; I tried to deny it.
Eventually, my turn came to help.
Each loss was crushing. I still
will not knowingly hurt someone,
or pre-judge them. My parents took
their job of raising children
seriously. They were successful.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As I Grew

  1. You were fortunate and it is lovely that you appreciated them. It is so sad when we lose our parents. I still miss mine and I’m nearly 70.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oldegg says:

    There is nothing better that to remember the lessons taught you by your parents. What a heartfelt poem this is.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.