Misdirected Farewell

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub, “Unintended Farewells” (posted by Abhra)
Coming to this week’s prompt – here is what I have in mind – I want you to write a poem about the farewell you gave but didn’t mean to – the good-bye you said but hoped that you will meet again at the crossroads.

A girl of eighteen who swore she was grown
A boy on an airbase convinced they should marry.
Left two parents crying,  a sister at home.
She knew his problems were weighty to carry.

Away from family, she missed them but tried
to manage a marriage she knew was a lie.
His jealous temper she hoped would recede,
grew worse, but at first, she stayed out of shame.

In hindsight she’s glad she did not impede
relations with family she had to reclaim.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Misdirected Farewell

  1. A troubled tale held together by hope and regret. Family remains the sanctuary of lost souls. A strong piece, Sara!

    Like

  2. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    I agree, such a strong and poignant poem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s truly a sad statement
    of humanity when we are
    taught to feel shame for
    what hurts us.. or for
    who we are..
    and i suppose
    thaT is why i find
    God aLLonE inside
    uS and noW buT alone
    never in buildings or books
    that support human hurt noW
    iN any hUman way oF FReED..:)

    Like

  4. ihatepoetry says:

    Ever try to come back over a bridge you’ve burned? You can, but it’s very difficult. I loved this.

    Like

  5. I hope there will be ways to mend her way back… I’m sure there are open arms waiting.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.