“the blossoms have fallen”

Written for:  Carpe Diem Tokubetsudesu #79-Looking Back in Time
Sparkling Stars – Koyu-hi

the blossoms have fallen:
our minds are now
tranquil

© Koyu-Ni (Tr. R.H. Blyth)

[…] Koyu-Ni died in 1782, her family name was Matsumato. She is one of the more prominent woman poets of the Edo period. She learned haiku from Songi the First. […]

I love to share a translation of my own for this haiku:
tranquility –
finally I have found peace,
blossoms have fallen

© Koyu-Ni (Tr. Chèvrefeuille)

were there
no cherry blossoms
in this world
our minds might know
serenity in spring

© Narihira

fallen cherry blossoms

Fallen cherry blossom cover water, looks like a pink river

Here is my attempt:

still river of pink
blossom tears fall in short spring–
bathe in their scent

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “the blossoms have fallen”

  1. This haiku must have been a joy to write as it fits your blog so well “purple pen in Portland” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.