Karumi

Written for:  Carpe Diem Tokubetsudesu #77, Pickles (in the way of Basho) lost episode of March).
This week I love to tell you more about one of the most delightful concepts of haiku writing, Karumi (or Lightness). The concept of Karumi isn’t a new idea, it comes from the other Japanese arts and Basho has tried to bring that Karumi concept into haiku writing in the, say, last ten years of his life.

under the trees
soup and pickles
cherry blossoms

© Basho (Tr. Jane Reichhold)
Ko no moto wa shiru mo namasu mo sakura kana

Underneath the trees,
soups and salads are buried
In cherry blossoms.
Uguisu ya mochi ni fun suru en no saki

A spring warbler casts
A dropping on the rice cakes —
the veranda edge..

© Basho

slowly a snail seeks
his path between Cherry blossoms
reaches for the sky

© Chèvrefeuille (our host)

Here is my attempt:

On a run years ago
think I should stop this silliness
Crow in tree laughs

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Karumi

  1. Hi…like your stuff. Question: are these a type of freelance haikus? I’m accustomed to the ones that are five syllables/seven syllables/five syllables. thx and have a good one!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.