Shapes And Symbols

Written for:  The Sunday Whirl, Wordle #246

Words:  end, stands, used, last, surface, talk, tales, flow, hope, circle, us, drips

When you reach the end
only to find it is a circle
standing inside of a square,
do you still dare to hope?

All the tales have been told,
talk that flowed is stale,
pale, used up, dried out.
Last of the water has finished
dripping.

The surface of us
is a minus, not a plus.

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shapes And Symbols

  1. Oh Sara, I like the way you put words together in this piece! It flows beautifully. That first stanza has me answering, yes. Eternal optimist. Then I finished reading… Nothing left of us really. Sad and effective. I really enjoyed this one…read it a few times.

    Like

  2. oldegg says:

    Yes we should stop looking forward and just savor each moment as we live it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. C.C. says:

    Ooooh, this one is really packed full of emotion…..such vivid images to really hit those feelings home. Really well-written 🙂

    Like

  4. Jae Rose says:

    I love the mathematics in this – the circle in a square – the zero sum equation -very clever and absolutely connection to emotion and feeling

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.