A Sunflower’s Life

Written for:  NaPoWriMo – Day 8
Find a flower, and write a poem in its honor.

b5d72d612d79903_F0000_ML000_CG_20_410

By: Kim Sayer

Strong stems shoot up;
large leaves unfurl. A green
bonnet frames a golden face,
turning upward toward the sun.
Happy heads sway
in summer breezes.

Sadly, at season’s end,
faces hide like penitent
children with lowered
lashes. Soon,
only  scattered seeds
remain.

http://www.napowrimo.net/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.