Of Different Minds

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads – Get Listed!  Compound Word Edition
The word challenge for our month of April Madness is to use compound words in constructive and imaginative ways.

jellyfish

Follow the link below to a site which offers 15 lists of well-known and also more unusual compound words. Select a minimum of three words to include in your poem of the day.

COMPOUND WORD LIST

I used seven of the words I found.

Widespread, he lay across
the entire blanket,
no doubt a brainchild
of bell-bottomed hippies.

Off on my own, uninterested
in sun bathing, I watch
starfish–without fishtails–
and wonder how they will appear
under moonbeams.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of Different Minds

  1. Kerry O'Connor says:

    It is so interesting how this turned out from the words you chose. The scene you have described is very striking, a day-dreamer and a more practical person, quick to get comfortable upon the blanket.

    Like

Comments are closed.