Lose-Lose Situation

Written for:  Poetic Asides April Challenge – Day 2
Write a what he said, and/or what she said poem

She says she is sorry,
I do not believe her.

She sounds insincere,
like she’s brushing me off,

like it is not important
enough to waste her time.

Not to mention the fact
that she has allowed a whole day

to go by before apologizing–
maximum should have been two hours.

My dilemma: If I swallow my feelings
and graciously accept her overdue

ruefulness, she will think she got away
easy. If I accuse her of not meaning

her apology, an argument will ensue,
after which, I will have to say, sorry.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lose-Lose Situation

  1. Kathleen says:

    Lose-lose situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Candy says:

    you’ve nailed this situation! ouch!

    Like

Comments are closed.