Drip, Drip, Drip

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Climate
Your challenge:  In a new poem, use climate or climate change as a thematic element.  As an added challenge―if you wish to accept it―use a specific situation to clarify a political or natural climate change in the past, present or future.

“Pray don’t talk to me about the weather, Mr. Worthing. Whenever people talk to me about the weather, I always feel quite certain that they mean something else.
And that makes me quite nervous.”
― Oscar Wilde

“Men argue. Nature acts.” ― Voltaire

“One of the biggest differences between humans and trees
is simply that humans burn trees.”
― M. Jackson, While Glaciers Slept:

Rain nearly every day
since December’s start.
Grapes are thriving–
harvest will be early.
The rest of us are surly, looking
anxiously for warmth
of sun. A day of browsing–shops,
fairs, neighborhoods–would not
go amiss. Still, even though
I have had my fill of rain,
look at other states and countries.
It could be worse; do not complain.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drip, Drip, Drip

  1. I love sun, too and your poem makes a great point…perspective. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.