Rembrandt and Donald Trump

Written for Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads:  “World-Blending”
World-blending is the practice of combining elements from contrasting places, times, cultures, or beliefs into a piece of art or literature. World blending can result in the creation of an entirely new genre or movement (think steam punk!). And today, you’re going to get try it out for yourself.

I am asking you to write a poem that incorporates elements from different worlds. The blend you choose is up to you. Your poem could be about a stone age jazz quartet, or maybe you want go more subtle and instead weave in imagery of Joan of Arc and jazzercise…..the possibilities are endless.

You must learn to sit still, Mr. Trump;
this is a portrait.

Do you think I am a chump? I want to see
what you’ve got so far. Are you kidding me?
My hair is the wrong color! Change it.

Mr. Trump, if I mixed all my paints together,
I could not duplicate your hair color.

Well, I could probably do a better job
than you. Shoot, gimme those brushes,
and step aside. Why is it taking
so long? I could paint one of your
pictures in half the time, and I’m
never wrong.

You have greatly insulted me, sir.
I will not defer to you. I must ask you
to leave my studio at once.

And who’s gonna make me, you
and what army? Get out of my way,
before I punch in your face.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rembrandt and Donald Trump

  1. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Oh dear, I fear you caught the tone just right.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kerry O'Connor says:

    Such a funny scenario, yet it carries much truth in the satire.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bekkie says:

    I loved the comparison Sara! Made me laugh.

    Like

  4. isadoragruye says:

    I really like where this challenge took you. Your opening lines and image of Trump sitting still to have his portrait painted brought a wry smile to me face. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

Comments are closed.