You Can Never Stay Angry

Written for:  dVerse poets pub:  “Bouts-Rimés Revisted; Meeting the Bar”
Choose a line to write a poem.  Use the following 14 words in order as end rhymes of a sonnet:

stay, sits, play, wits, fits, comedy, flits, tragedy, eye, smart, cry, heart, moan, stone

Bouts-Rimés (pronounced Boo-ReeMay) is French for “rhymed ends” and was the name given to a rhyming game that was formulated by an obscure French poet named Dulot from the 17th century. Not much else is known about him.

I tell my young dog that he must stay
in the house. He stares at me, and sits,
not happy, but maybe he will play
with his older sister–a game of wits
in which a toy contains a treat that fits
snugly inside. Watching them is a comedy.
Once, they stopped playing, saw a flit
of light–a bird hit the window. A tragedy
in the making, but the stunned bird opened a eye.
When I get home, my eyes begin to tear and smart
from pillow stuffing. Who did this? I cry.
They hang their heads and melt my heart.
Thinking me angry, the small dog moans.
Just then I spot it, a vase broken in stones.

http://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Can Never Stay Angry

  1. Oh, they’ll pull at the heart string yes, they will. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha! We did indeed! Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.