Seven

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads:  “Let’s Count on Our Fingers and Toes”
Do you have a number that is special to you? Perhaps you would like to learn the significance of your Birthday Number. Approach this challenge from any angle that inspires.

Seven is an odd number
with an odd number
of letters. When I write
the number, I slant
the stem, like an uneven
hem. Rome boasts of seven
hills, continents number
seven, and in the seventh
month of the year, my father
was born. I am happy gazing
at a rainbow’s seven colors.

I must add, I do not gamble,
or play number seven
in any game of chance. Also,
I have never liked 7-Up. Still,
seven is an odd number,
and I am an odd person.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seven

  1. And seven rhymes with heaven making it divine

    Like

  2. ” I slant
    the stem, like an uneven
    hem.”

    I think you did the number 7 proud. Lovely.

    Like

  3. Kerry O'Connor says:

    Seven is odd and prime, an awkward number to work with..yet has it’s place in our mythology.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lynn__ says:

    LIKE your poetic musing on a favored number…biblically, seven represents a kind of wholeness, completeness.

    Like

  5. This is great…your interpretation of the prompt is so creative. I too like the line Margaret refereed to.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.