Gift Of A Peony

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~”A Flower Was Offered To Me”
Today we will begin with the same sentence and add our own variety to it. You may use your chosen form or write in free verse style.
“A flower was offered to me,” is taken from William Blake’s My Pretty Rose Tree.

peonies

A flower was offered to me
by a passerby, and I felt
power pulsing behind
beauty. Pink peony, petals
closed like a person dozing,
curled up, innocent. Seductive
scented peony urged me to find
a slender vase, and an addition
of water. When petals began
to unfurl, the secrets
of this gift would be revealed.
The mystery would remain.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Gift Of A Peony

  1. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    I love the mystery in this, the gradual unfolding.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cayn says:

    This is beautiful. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sumana Roy says:

    ” I felt / power pulsing behind / beauty.”….ah…the soul of the poem…beautiful Sara…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Susan says:

    I know peonies, but this made me understand their wonder more! An innocent gift gives so much!

    Like

  5. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Such an enamoring piece 🙂
    Beautifully written.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jae Rose says:

    Often the simplest things hold the greatest mystery – maybe that is the wonder of the world – and ‘petals closed like a person dozing,’ – how we yearn for such peace

    Like

  7. Sherry Marr says:

    This is beautiful, the slow unfolding, the mystery……..

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Myrna Zach says:

    This is one of my favorite things

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Panchali says:

    Profound…slowly but surely a day will come, when truth will be revealed. Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. oldegg says:

    That beautiful awakening to entrance us.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mary says:

    I love the sense of mystery in the gift! And I wonder what secrets will be revealed!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. gc1963 says:

    I love the last line. Yes, the mystery will always intrigue and enchant.

    Like

  13. I love this. The mystery does remain!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.