A Maple’s Thoughts

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~The Inanimate & the Non-Human
For today’s theme use the inanimate or the non-human as your subject. Build up an emotional connection with it.

She loves my shade
in summer as she rocks
on a glider, writing.
Benevolently, I bend
my branches to dances
of hummingbirds, flitting
finches, and raucous
bluejays. She hooks
a birdhuse on a limb,
and awaits nest builders
to stake a claim. She is
first to point out my new
buds, and last to lament
lingering leaves at fall’s end.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Maple’s Thoughts

  1. Sumana Roy says:

    I love this other way round thoughts and the loving and friendly voice of the maple…

    Like

  2. Jae Rose says:

    What a magical poem – and tree – more sophisticated but it reminded of being young and playing outdoors were everything had a wonder and could be your friend if you wished it to be

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    Lovely to imagine how what we do around them might affect a tree. Love this. Maybe we are their pets!

    Like

  4. Ahh the tree that gives so many sweet offerings. A beautiful thank you to the maple.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.