On The Road To Florida

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens with Real Toads:  “Hitting The Road”
The prompt my dear Toad’s is to think back to a particularly good or bad road trip you have had and write about it.  You can write about any facet, the company, car troubles, the scenery, the destination, whatever floats your boat. 

On the two-hundredth birthday
of our country, we hit
the road–my sister, brother-
in-law, and me. My parents
were snowbirds sunning
in the hellish heat
known as Florida.

No eating in the car,
no stopping unless
you had no choice.
The voice of my brother
-in-law. Strict, but we got around
him, having our own tricks.

Insects slobbered
on the windshield,
South of the Border
signs sprung up
every few miles. A mandatory
stop came; we smiled.
My sister and I snuck
chocolate bars into
the car, and waited
for an opportunity.
None came. The chocolate
melted, spreading all
over the back seat. We
managed to look surprised,
were properly chastised,
but laughed anyway. Not so
much at Day’s Inn. First
room was wet, second
was hosting an ant party,
and third was missing
a television.

We were younger, sillier,
and knew even during
the trip, we would remember
it forever. We still talk
about it. We still laugh.
My brother-in-law has
a different car.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On The Road To Florida

  1. Kathleen says:

    This is great. Ya got me giggling!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Myrna Zach says:

    However, if you fly—-

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gillena says:

    great write, lovely memories

    much love…

    Like

  4. Helen Dehner says:

    I suspect many of us have these kinds of memories ~ I do! Really an enjoyable read.

    Like

  5. Ah.. I guess there had to be a new car.. (but not a new brother in law)…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.