Looking Back

Written for:  dVerse Poets, “Gender Bender
Try writing a poem as if you were a member of the opposite gender. 

Should have persevered;
fear of failure stopped
me cold. I could play
that guitar, make it wail.
Didn’t we rock
those crowds, amp it up
loud, and feel so good
to hear them cheer,
ask for encores?

Should have stuck
with it, Bobby. What a life
we could have lived. Give
my regards to Angie.
I’d love another beer,
but I’ve got a doctor’s
appointment early tomorrow.
Growing old, Bobby. Hey
man, I’ll see you at
the party. Don’t forget
to bring your horn.

http://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York, though I now embrace the Pacific Northwest as home, residing with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Looking Back

  1. Great – I love this. There is a whole story in this that’s implied.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. greenspeckblogger says:

    I love how time plays a key role here …. beautiful piece 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bodhirose says:

    I like the reminiscing of the two friends here, looking back on what might have been. You take us back in time and then into the present again…nicely done.
    Gayle ~

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Grace says:

    Nice conversation between two male friends ~ Would have been talk, is always part of our memories when we are old, I guess ~ Thanks for writing to the prompt ~

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Somehow I get a feeling of survival here. Bobby make me think of Janis Joplin.. There are those that survives, and those that don’t survive their youth.

    Like

  6. hypercryptical says:

    Great write and I echo Bjorn’s comment.
    Anna :o]

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mary says:

    It’s always hard to look back and think what might have been…..if only!

    (So glad you linked your poem!)

    Like

  8. 55.. i don’t suppose
    is too old but there
    is a now at 21
    where
    my song
    ends..
    re-beGins
    at 22..
    ends again
    at 47.. comes
    roaring back
    like a Lion
    at 53..
    and the rest
    is history now
    is all Heaven..
    illusion for
    me is
    song
    ends..
    it
    never
    does..
    in
    Finity
    and yes..
    sometimes
    the first note..
    word.. or step
    is the long
    song
    and
    dance
    HOME
    ASHEAVEN
    ALWAYSNOW..:)

    Like

  9. Kim Nelson says:

    I love the piece and the message. You remind me of all the years (youthful) during which opportunities slipped away because I was afraid.

    Like

  10. Very cute…. Actually touching. But a man would probably be more likely to say:

    Hey Bobby! We Rocked!
    Ooooh! She’s hot!
    I think I need to fart but afraid it might be a poop…
    Wow! Check out the one in the pink top!
    Are you buying the next round?
    Oh man! 3 o’clock! Check out those “fill-in-the-blank”
    I wonder how many of these tequila shots I can drink in 30 seconds?
    I love you man. But seriously,
    do you think that girl in the black likes me?
    Doesn’t matter… I need to see the doc to
    get more blue pills tomorrow….

    Just kidding… I love the message of your poem…. It’s very sweet

    Like

Comments are closed.